top of page
Search

Restoring My Voice


It's Grammy time this Sunday. I'm ready to tell my story about how The Recording Academy MusiCares saved my voice. It was five years ago when my singing started to sound very raspy. It was a terrifying experience since I sang my entire life. Always with clear beautiful tones and range. A friend gave me Jennifer Leff phone number at MusiCares. She was extremely helpful. Within a few days I had an appointment with Dr Michaël Pittman at the Eye and Ear building on 2nd Avenue. He put a camera probe through my nose to take pictures and video of my vocal folds. There it was a polyp, a pimple of blood as big as a cranberry. "That's not a problem said Dr Pittman, I can remove that and you will be fine. Before the surgery I said a prayer to God, "I sang all my life and if you don't want to give me my voice back I'll write music for others to sing. If you give me my voice I will be so grateful". After the surgery I was on vocal rest for a month. I did exactly what the Doctor told me. In a few weeks I could talk one minute a day and with each day more and more. Working with voice therapist to make sure I eased into speaking. It was three weeks later that when I arrived she lead me to a room with a piano and said okay let's hear your voice. I still cry when I think of that moment when I heard my voice. It was crystal clear, my voice was better than ever. I was so excited I called my Mom and kids they were like " wow your voice is beautiful. I didn't tell anyone that I went through this drama with my voice until now. I have all my gratitude to have my voice back from this extraordinary organization MusiCares. Yes, they really do care. Thank you with all my heart. I love to sing Singing is my life. 🌷👏🏻🌷 https://www.grammy.com/musicares 


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page